Happy Bookers Discussion Group

The Happy Bookers is Phillipsburg Library’s monthly book discussion group.  We meet on the fourth Wednesday of the month at 7:00 p.m.   Newcomers are always welcome and no registration is required!  Call the library at 908-454-3712 for more information.

Next Meeting:
Wednesday, October 24 at 7:00 p.m.

The Boys in the Boat
by Daniel James Brown

For readers of Laura Hillenbrand’s Seabiscuit and Unbroken, the dramatic story of the American rowing team that stunned the world at Hitler’s 1936 Berlin Olympics.

Daniel James Brown’s robust book tells the story of the University of Washington’s 1936 eight-oar crew and their epic quest for an Olympic gold medal, a team that transformed the sport and grabbed the attention of millions of Americans. The sons of loggers, shipyard workers, and farmers, the boys defeated elite rivals first from eastern and British universities and finally the German crew rowing for Adolf Hitler in the Olympic games in Berlin, 1936.

The emotional heart of the story lies with one rower, Joe Rantz, a teenager without family or prospects, who rows not for glory, but to regain his shattered self-regard and to find a place he can call home. (Goodreads).

 

Request the print book

Request the audio book

Discussion Questions (Penguin Reading Guide)

 

Links

Author website

1936 Olympics

Olympia (Leni Riefenstahl’s Nazi propaganda film)

The Boys of 36 (American Experience, PBS)

 


Upcoming Selections:

November – Lillian Boxfish Takes a Walk

Suggest a book for discussion