Classic Book Club

“Classic” books are classic for a reason – their literary excellence transcends passing fads, and they continue to engage readers generation after generation. If there are classics you have always meant to read “someday,” or if you read them in school before you were ready to appreciate them, now is the time to enjoy them with other adult readers.

Discussion groups will meet at 7:00 p.m. on the second Tuesday of every other month. Anyone is welcome to attend any session, but advanced registration is required if you would like the library to reserve you a book. Register here!

In 2018, we are exploring “classically funny” titles. So if your memory of classic literature is all doom and gloom, this may be the perfect year to join us for a look at the lighter side.

 

Next Meeting: August 14, 2018

Life Among the Savages by Shirley Jackson

Shirley Jackson, author of the classic short story The Lottery, was known for her terse, haunting prose. But the writer possessed another side, one which is delightfully exposed in this hilariously charming memoir of her family’s life in rural Vermont. Fans of Please Don’t Eat the Daisies, Cheaper by the Dozen, and anything Erma Bombeck ever wrote will find much to recognize in Shirley Jackson’s home and neighborhood: children who won’t behave, cars that won’t start, furnaces that break down, a pugnacious corner bully, household help that never stays, and a patient, capable husband who remains lovingly oblivious to the many thousands of things mothers and wives accomplish every single day. (Goodreads)

Author website

11 Things You Probably Didn’t Know About Shirley Jackson

 

 

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save